LARGE BRONZE VASE WITH TWO PATINAS BY MARCEL DEBUT (1865-1933)

4 900€
Current stock : 0

Large vase amphora in bronze with green patina and medal. The front of the body is decorated with a naiad lying on waves and surrounded by aquatic plants. On the other side of the vase, a Love seen from behind climbs the body of the vase, clinging to the branches. The abundant aquatic vegetation partially hides two inscriptions: "I am tearing myself away" and "I am dying". The small handles remind us of the movement of the waves. This vase is signed in hollow on the base: "Marcel Debut".

Circa: 1900

Condition report: in very good condition.

 

Documentation:

In Greek mythology, naiads were aquatic nymphs who lived in fresh waters, particularly rivers, springs and fountains. They were the object of a special cult. Naiads were considered the daughters of Zeus, the river gods or the ocean gods, and are sometimes counted among the priestesses of Dionysus. They are depicted young and pretty, usually bare-legged and bare-armed, leaning on an urn pouring water, or holding a shell and pearls, whose brilliance enhances the simplicity of their finery. A reed crown adorns their hair, which floats over their shoulders. They are also sometimes crowned with aquatic plants.

Marcel Debut (Paris, 1865-1933), painter and sculptor, studied with his father Didier Debut, then with Thomas and Chapu at the École des Beaux-Arts. A member of the Artistes Français, with honorable mention in 1895, he exhibited plaster statuettes at the Salon from 1883 onwards: "Sommelier du XVe siècle" (1889), "Petit Pêcheur au harpon" (1893), "Actéon" (1897), "Le Génie des arts" (1898) and bronzes: "Watteau" (1890), or the vase on the theme of Persée et d'Andromède (1896).

Identifier Exists False
Period: 20th century
Style: Art Nouveau
Materials: Patinated bronze
LP : 1778
Availability : Object available
Width : 29 (cm)
Height 59 (cm)
Depth 25 (cm)
Delivery : Free delivery

Safe packaging

We pack all our items ourselves in triple-flute cardboard or wooden boxes.

Fast delivery

We deliver worldwide with trusted partners.

Guarantees

All our items are insured by AXA Art

Secure payment

Pay with complete peace of mind - our site is secure

GRAND VASE EN BRONZE A DEUX PATINES DE MARCEL DEBUT (1865-1933)

4 900€
Stock actuel : 0

Grand vase amphore en bronze à patine verte et médaille. Le devant de la panse est décoré d'une naïade allongée sur des vagues et entourée de plantes aquatiques. De l'autre côté du vase, un Amour vu de dos escalade la panse, s'accrochant aux branchages. L'abondante végétation aquatique cache partiellement deux inscriptions: "Je m'arrache" et "Je meurs". Petites anses mouvementées rappelant le mouvement des vagues. Ce vase Art nouveau est signé en creux sur la base : "Marcel Debut".

Epoque Art nouveau, Circa: 1900

Dim: L:29cm, P:25cm, H:59cm.

Rapport de condition : en très bon état.

Documentation :

Dans la mythologie grecque, les naïades étaient des nymphes aquatiques qui vivent dans les eaux douces, en particulier les rivières, les sources, ou encore les fontaines. Elles faisaient l'objet d'un culte particuliers. Les naïades passaient pour les filles de Zeus, des dieux fleuves ou de l’Océan, et sont parfois comptées au nombre des prêtresses de Dionysos. Elles sont représentées jeunes, jolies, habituellement les jambes et les bras nus, appuyées sur une urne qui verse de l'eau, ou tenant à la main un coquillage et des perles dont l'éclat relève la simplicité de leur parure. Une couronne de roseau orne leur chevelure qui flotte sur leurs épaules. Elles sont également couronnées, parfois, de plantes aquatiques.

Marcel Debut (Paris, 1865-1933), peintre et sculpteur, fut l'élève de son père Didier Debut, puis de Thomas et de Chapu à l’École des beaux-arts. Sociétaire des Artistes Français, mention honorable en 1895, il exposa au Salon à partir de 1883, des statuettes en plâtre : "Sommelier du XVe siècle" (1889), "Petit Pêcheur au harpon" (1893), "Actéon" (1897), "Le Génie des arts" (1898) et des bronzes : "Watteau" (1890), ou le vase sur le thème de Persée et d'Andromède (1896).

LP : 1778
Disponibilité : Objet disponible
Largeur : 29 (cm)
Hauteur 59 (cm)
Profondeur 25 (cm)
Livraison : Livraison gratuite

Un emballage sécurisé

Nous emballons nous-même tous nos objets dans des cartons à triple cannelure ou des boîtes en bois.

Une livraison rapide

Nous assurons la livraison dans le monde entier avec des partenaires de confiance.

Des garanties

Tous nos objets sont assurés par AXA Art

Un paiement sécurisé

Payez en toute sérénité, notre site est sécurisé